Mango Lime Chicken Salad

I have my mom to thank for this recipe! I usually find my recipe’s via pinterest, but when my mom sent this, it peaked my interest. One, it had lots of seasonings, including lime- yum! AND, Two, it’s SUPER healthy! Enticing enough for me! Jared really enjoyed this recipe. Definitely a keeper!

One tip I will add, the recipe calls for a mixture of spices to be “dry rubbed” onto the chicken. I am not an experienced cook, so i googled to make sure I wasn’t messing something up. I read that a dry rub is simply dry spices coating the chicken or meat. However, it encourages you to coat the meat,  put in on a plate and seran wrap it, and place it in the fridge for several hours. This is so the seasonings can really sink into the meat. I did not do this because obviously I had not done my homework, but the chicken still came out VERY flavorful. I used 2 chicken breasts and ended up doubling the dry spice mixture to fully coat the chicken, however- these spices are very strong and I probably did not need to use as much. Use your judgment on whether you need more. I also only used 2 limes for juice and it was plenty lime-y. One more thing… I used cilantro from my very own container garden!! How cool! ha!

So, without further adieu… Mango Lime Chicken Salad via http://www.prayfit.com/recipe-mango-lime-chicken-salad/

IMG_0899

Makes 4 servings

Grilled Chicken Ingredients
Chicken breasts (2 large or 3 small)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp paprika

Salad Ingredients
1 can organic black beans (no salt added, drained and rinsed)
1/2 red bell pepper, diced small
1 1/2 tsp lime zest (from 3-4 limes)
Juice from 3 limes
2 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
3 oz. feta cheese
1/3 cup coarsely chopped cilantro leaves
2 scallions, thinly sliced
1 ripe mango, peeled, halved, pit removed and cut into chunks
coarse salt, to taste

IMG_0900Chicken Instructions
1. Combine the 5 spices (salt, pepper, garlic, onion and paprika) for the chicken breasts and dry rub the breasts.
2. Grill till meat is no longer pink.
3. Let meat cool and then cube.

Salad Instructions
1. Combine black beans, red bell pepper, lime zest and juice, olive oil, cayenne pepper, feta cheese, cilantro, scallions, and cubed mango in a bowl. Season with salt and mix.
2. Gently mix the cubed chicken breast into salad.

Can be served as is, or on a bed of fresh spring mix.

IMG_0906

Nutrition Data: (based off of 5oz of chicken breast per serving)
Calories: 411
Fat: 13.75 g
Carbs: 26 g
Protein: 54.5 g

 

Leave a Reply

