Buttermilk Blueberry Breakfast Cake

IMG_1075I am NOT a big blueberry fan. I mean I’ll eat them in recipes, but I will definitely turn my nose up to a plain blueberry anytime. They are bitter and have no defining taste. I just don’t understand the allure. Now, my brother, Trevor, has liked blueberry things since I can remember. Every time we drove up to “Sweeties” donut shop in my hometown, we knew his order. Blueberry donut! So, it was very interesting years later to discover that my husband also has a strange obsession for those silly, no taste berries. He loves blueberry donuts, blueberry muffins, and even a new blueberry lemonade that just came out by Simply Lemonade. So, needless to say, when I saw this recipe, I knew it looked like a winner for those blueberry lovers in my life. I first made this recipe for my husband, Jared, for his birthday morning breakfast back in March. I KNOW I said I don’t really have great feelings about blueberries, but let me tell you…. this recipe changed my mind. Every moist, melt in your mouth bite- shocked me, amazed me, and yes- made me smile. It made Jared… and later, his co-workers (he took them a few pieces) smile and nod their heads in approval. So, fast forward, my brother, Trevor, has been in town for the last few weeks. This has been his last week here before he returns to California for college. I just knew he needed to try this amazing recipe. It was every bit as good, if not better this time around. Trevor loved it as I knew he would, and now… it’s time for you to stop licking your lips and whip up these yummy little clouds of blueberry heaven for yourself.IMG_1073

Buttermilk Blueberry Breakfast Cake

Adapted from Alexandra’s Kitchen

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 tsp. lemon zest or more — zest from 1 large lemon
  • 7/8 cup* + 1 tablespoon sugar**
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups flour (set aside 1/4 cup of this to toss with the blueberries)
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries
  • ½ cup buttermilk

* 7/8 cup = 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons

**This 1 tablespoon is for sprinkling on top

Crumb topping (optional)

  • 3/4 stick of Butter (room temp, cut into small pieces)
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon (optional)
  • 1/2 cup Flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Zest (grate the outer peel) one large lemon to create 2 tsp. or more of shavings. Cream the butter, 7/8 cup (3/4 cup + 2 tbls.) sugar, and lemon zest together until fluffy.

Beat in the egg and vanilla until combined.

In a separate bowl, whisk together 1 & 3/4 cup flour (set aside the remaining 1/4 cup), baking powder, and salt.

In a small bowl, toss blueberries with the remaining 1/4 cup flour. Set aside.IMG_1060 IMG_1061
Add about 1/3 of the flour mixture to the batter. Beat until combined and then add about 1/3 of the buttermilk. Alternate adding the flour and buttermilk until completely combined.

Fold in the blueberries (you do not have to add all of the flour in bowl if there is some left in the bottom).

Optional Crumb topping: Combine ingredients and cut together with 2 knives or a pastry cutter. Combine until crumbles are pea sized.

Grease or spray a 9 x 13 inch baking pan with non stick spray. Add batter to the pan. Sprinkle the remaining tablespoon of sugar on top (This is not necessary if adding the crumb topping) or sprinkle crumb topping on cake. Bake for 35-45 minutes or until toothpick poked in the center comes out clean.IMG_1065IMG_0460IMG_1074

One thought on “Buttermilk Blueberry Breakfast Cake

  1. This blueberry breakfast cake just melts in your mouth! Tastes so good, but I wouldn’t select this for a diet cake! One piece will not be enough!! LOL!

Leave a Reply

