Refrigerator Oatmeal: super healthy & super yummy!

Oatmeal is my favorite staple. I eat it at least 5 days a week, sometimes more than once a day. I love when we have nothing to eat for dinner, because that means I get to eat oatmeal! I know…it’s probably that breakfast food obsession I have. My latest oatmeal discovery is Quaker’s Perfect Portions. They have maple and cinnamon flavor. They are no sugar added, so you can add whatever sweetener you prefer. I haven’t tried the cinnamon version yet. I know… cinnamon is my other favorite thing, but I just love the maple so much that I haven’t been able to veer away.3000031570I saw a recipe on Pinterest a while back for “refrigerator oatmeal”. The recipe is for cold oatmeal, a nice summer alternative. When I looked up the ingredients, I saw oatmeal and greek yogurt listed. Okay, can I say YES, please. Greek yogurt has been my other obsession lately. So I tried the recipe out and it is delicious and full of nutritional value, making it a great way to start your day! The recipe is very versatile too. It’s easy to get creative and add your own flavors! Here is my basic recipe.

IMG_1337

Refrigerator Oatmeal

Ingredients
  • 1/3 cup oatmeal (quick 1 minute or regular, not steel cut. I use maple flavor perfect portions)
  • 1/3 cup non-fat Greek yogurt (I usually use vanilla, but any flavor works!)
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (or any milk of your choice; I use blue diamond, almond breeze, original)
  • 1 packet of truvia sweetener
  • (I also love to add cinnamon to this!)

Nutritional Info (Above basic ingredients only): Calories: 170, Carbs: 28, Sugars: 6, Fat: 3, Fiber: 3, Protein: 10

Additional Optional Ingredients:
  • Dash of cinnamon Dash of vanilla Almonds, walnuts, pecans
  • Fruit (bananas, strawberries, blueberries, etc.)
  • Cocoa favoring
  • Instant coffee
  • Granola
  • The possibilities are endless!

IMG_1522

Instructions:

Combine the basics (oatmeal, yogurt, and milk) in a sealable container (plastic or mason jar). Add any extra sweetener (I use 1 packet of truvia). Add fruit or other additional mix-ins as desired. If using granola or something that may become soggy, add that as a topping later when ready to eat. Seal container and shake to combine. Place in refrigerator over night or for several hours. This allows the oatmeal to soak up the milk and yogurt. Take out of refrigerator and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

