Sprinkles Ice Cream: Welcome to the Big D!

I Scream. You Scream.  We all Scream for Sprinkles Ice Cream!

Today was the day. The day I put in my “i-cal” about a month ago.  August 16, 2013. Today is the day that the “Big D” (Dallas) welcomes the beloved Sprinkles Cupcake’s addition, Sprinkles Ice Cream!

I was first introduced to Sprinkles by my boyfriend, now husband, Jared. I would have to agree with him that these are the best cupcakes I have ever had! Sprinkles started in California, and Dallas was the third cupcake location they opened. There are now many Sprinkles Cupcake locations all over the US. However, Sprinkle’s Ice Cream location in Dallas is now the third ice cream location! Jared loves these cupcakes so much that we almost had Sprinkles cupcakes for his grooms cake on our wedding day. Since we didn’t get to do that, I sent him and his groomsmen some on our special day.

DSC_0018Even though I love a Sprinkles cupcake, there has always been a bit of sadness in my heart as the delicious morsels melt in my mouth. It was like something was missing. You see, I am the kind of person that frowns when cake is offered with no ice cream. I mean, they just belong together. So, when I heard Sprinkles was opening an ice cream shop here in Dallas, you better believe I was going to be in line!

IMG_1831

The shop opened at noon and we arrived about 12:45. The line was out the door and we waited about half an hour, but the wait was well worth it. We were handed menu/ flavor cards to mull over as we waited.

IMG_0410_2

There were SO many options, endless really. You can have cupcake ice cream sandwiches (two cupcake tops with ice cream in between), ice cream sundaes (with cupcake crumbles on top), cookie sandwiches, cookie sundaes, shakes, malts, floats, and we can’t forget the “Sprinkle’s Sundae.”

IMG_1838IMG_1836 IMG_1837 IMG_1841

My brother, Trevor,  got Cap n’ crunch ice cream with red velvet cupcake crumbles on top. YUM! (shown below)

IMG_1842

Me and Jared got Sprinkle’s Sundaes, which is your choice of cupcake cut in half with your choice of ice cream in between.

Jared got a dark chocolate cupcake with salty caramel ice cream (shown below).

IMG_0413_2

I got a pumpkin cupcake with butter pecan ice cream. The ice cream had candied pecans mixed in! O. M. GEEE! SO good! (shown below)

IMG_1849IMG_1848IMG_1851

This is  must visit if you are in the area. It is located next door/ around the corner from the Sprinkles Cupcake store at 8413 Preston Center Plaza Drive in Dallas. There is something for everyone at this place and the taste can not be compared!

Here’s to cake AND ice cream, together again!

IMG_0414_2

Leave a Reply

