Banana Pudding (from scratch) and other things…

I know, I know… it has been a while. Don’t worry though, I am back with a special treat!

A lot has been going on the last few weeks between my brother being in town (I miss you already Trevor!), my mom’s birthday, Jared’s mom being in town, Jared’s brother’s birthday, and us trying to plan our 1 year anniversary trip! Can you believe it’s already been a year (More on that later)!?

Another exciting thing that happened a few weeks ago…  I had the honor of being featured for a  “fashion challenge” by Coast to Coast Central. Every Tuesday and Thursday they do a new fashion challenge! It is so much fun, and I would definitely do more of them if I didn’t wear scrubs every day. ha! If you are a fashionista at all, you HAVE to check out this site! These girls are awesome and so inspirational, informative, and just plain fun! I am totally addicted to their site. Here is my debut (I say that laughing, it was totally an honor to be featured)! 🙂 IMG_1864So, now on to that special treat I promised you! My mom requested old fashioned banana pudding from scratch for her birthday (My mom at her Birthday lunch at Oddfellows below).

IMG_1898

Now, this request was a little intimidating because my mom used to make us THE best banana pudding growing up. I remember just waiting for that pan of yummy goodness to be ready, full of real bananas and vanilla wafers. I never even knew that banana pudding from the box existed until later on in my life.  If you’ve never had the REAL thing… you owe it to yourself… just follow this recipe, grab some cool whip, or whip up your own whipped topping (oh gosh I am licking my lips…. i really love whipped cream… like a LOT… ok sorry…), and let it take you back to a backyard, country BBQ, southern- wonderful- goodness experience like you’ve never known. P.S. I did get the nod of approval from my mom and dad on this one! 🙂

IMG_1877

Homemade Banana Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 tbsp. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 4 cups milk
  • 8 egg yolks
  • 2 tbsp. vanilla
  • 1 box Nilla Wafers
  • 4 medium bananas

Directions:

Mix sugar, flour, and salt together and place in a stovetop pot over medium low heat. Slowly add milk to pot. Stir continually for about 20 minutes or until mixture thickens. Note: The mixture will not be as thick as a normal pudding, it is more of a custard consistency. Also, this must be continually stirred so that it doesn’t burn.

Beat egg yolks in a seperate bowl. Slowly (temper) pour a small amount of the warm mixture into the egg yolk bowl. This helps even out the temperature so that you do not  overcook the eggs. Then slowly pour the egg mixture into the warm mixture. Cook for 5 more minutes, stirring continually. Then, remove from heat.

Line bottom of casserole dish with Nilla Wafers. Then add a layer of sliced bananas. Last add a layer of the custard. Repeat the layers, ending with custard on top. (I added crushed Nilla Wafers on top.)

You can add meringue, cool whip, or homemade whipped topping if you wish. This dish is wonderful warm, but also just as amazing after being chilled for several hours. YUM! Let me know if you try this recipe. Hope you enjoy this last piece of summer tastiness!

IMG_1878 IMG_1876IMG_1880

2 thoughts on “Banana Pudding (from scratch) and other things…

  1. Pingback: Protein Southern Banana Pudding Parfait | Cinnamon & Swirl

Leave a Reply

