Paleo Pumpkin Apple Muffins

It is time for my blog followers to hear about my latest adventure…Tone It Up!

My friend Jamie introduced me to Tone it Up. I checked out their website at toneitup.com and was immediately intrigued. It is an awesome community of women all working towards living a healthy lifestyle. Karena and Katrina are the creators of Tone It Up and our “trainers.” They post daily workouts on their site, and they have a nutrition plan available for purchase. The nutrition plan is 100% worth it. There are tons of recipes, and they teach you what to eat and when to eat it- which is key! I am eating healthier than ever, and for the first time when eating right, I am NOT hungry! We are encouraged to “check in” with our workouts/ meals daily on instagram, twitter, and/ or the online community. It is such great accountability and motivation. The best part is that this community is full of the most uplifting, encouraging, and supporting women! Girls I don’t even know cheer me on! I love this environment of positive people! If you are looking to live a healthy lifestyle, but need a little support- you have to check out Tone It Up!

All that to say…. while eating healthy I do have some cravings for baked goods! Luckily, Tone It Up has plenty of recipes for healthy baked things. Plus, people are always sharing recipes they’ve tried. Over the weekend one of the TIU-ers shared this recipe and I decided to try it out with my own little twist. TIU is not a paleo diet, just good clean eating. This recipe is “paleo”, but if you aren’t ready to branch out that far- I am sure you could use whole wheat flour instead of almond flour. You could also try half whole wheat, half protein powder (Tone it Up has their own brand of protein powder called Perfect Fit that they often use as a substitute for flour). Using almond flour makes this recipe gluten free and low carb. However, there is a slight difference in texture.  The other downside is that almond flour is a bit expensive. This was my first experience working with it. Okay, my second. I tried another recipe the day before that was a complete failure! This recipe turned out yummy though! Glad I tried it! Thanks @leslyannetiu for sharing!

IMG_0809

Paleo Pumpkin Apple Muffins

Adapted from Paleo Fresh

Makes 12 muffins. Serving size = 1 muffin

Nutrition: Calories: 185, Carbs: 12, Sugars: 8, Fat: 14, Protein: 5, Fiber: 2

Ingredients:
  • 1 1/2 cups almond meal or flour
  • 3/4 c canned organic pumpkin
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 c organic honey *
  • 1 large apple (I used gala)
  • 3/4 cup pecans

*Note: Real Maple syrup can also be used in place of honey. You could also try half honey, half stevia

Directions:
  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  • Peel and chop apple into small chunks and set aside.
  • Mix all ingredients together except the apple and pecans.
  • Fold in the apple chunks and 1/2 cup pecans (save the other 1/4 cup).
  • Using a spoon, divide mixture evenly into oiled muffin pan or use cup cake liners for no mess.
  • Top each muffin with the leftover 1/4 cup pecans
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
  • Allow muffins to cool and enjoy!

IMG_0792 IMG_0801

(I am looking forward to mixing my muffin in with some greek yogurt for a little breakfast parfait tomorrow!)

4 thoughts on “Paleo Pumpkin Apple Muffins

  1. Pingback: Paleo Pumpkin Muffins with Chocolate Icing | The Memoirs of a Yo-Yo Dieter

  2. Is this supposed to be really moist? I cooked it for over 20 minutes..toothpick came out basically clean. But half of the muffin is really quite moist..kind of like scrambled eggs feeling. Top part tastes good though! Please help..thank you!

    • Hey Daniela! hmm.. i do remember them being pretty moist when I made them. Not scrambled egg feeling tho! ha! I have noticed with almond flour – it doesn’t quite soak up the moisture as much so it takes some experimenting… since this recipe already calls for pumpkin puree and apples… and honey… there is a lot of moisture going on. I don’t quite remember… but i may have used half honey half stevia in these. You could maybe try less pumpkin, cook longer (if the tops are brown, put foil over them and keep cooking), or try using half whole wheat flour if you are ok with having gluten. Sorry! I don’t know if that is much help! I got the original recipe from http://paleofresh.blogspot.com/2012/10/fresh-pumpkin-muffins.html – She didn’t use apples…. but you can check out her recipe too 🙂

Leave a Reply

