Southern Blackberry Cobbler Protein Pancakes

Image

Alright, so if you know me at all, you know I LOVE a pancake. Breakfast is my absolute favorite meal any time of the day. Unfortunately, my attempt at living a healthy lifestyle (not a diet) does not include those fluffy clouds of buttermilk goodness on a daily basis. Oh well, that just makes it more of a treat to go out for a yummy pancake. Now, don’t worry I haven’t given up on pancakes- no I still eat them… a lot. The version I eat now is just a little… okay a lot healthier version. Let me introduce you to (drum roll please) the protein pancake. The base recipe can be easily adapted to many flavors. Feel free to experiment! I got the base recipe from Tone It Up (check out toneitup.com), which is the fitness/ nutrition plan I like to follow. So without further a due, my latest protein pancake experiment…

Southern Blackberry Cobbler Protein Pancake

Image

Base Recipe:

  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein (I used perfect fit protein)
  • 1 Tbs. almond milk (or more to thin batter)

For this version I added:

  • 1/8 cup oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 4 blackberries (pureed/ mashed)

Mix all ingredients together and cook over medium low heat.

I topped mine with Dannon cherry light and fit greek yogurt, oats, and pecans.

Patience is the key with protein pancakes. The batter doesn’t hold together as well as regular pancake batter. Cook them slow with lower heat. It may take 6 minutes or so on the first side before you flip. Again, patience. These won’t be fluffy like your regular pancakes, but they are definitely a great alternative for a healthy option! Yum! You can also use this batter to make waffles.

Leave a Reply

