“I Can Feel You” Dance

It has been a while since I have posted, I know. I have no excuses. I have been cooking and baking regularly, just haven’t taken the time to share with you here on the blog. I will work on that! ha!

Today, however, I’d like to share something a little different. This past weekend, I, along with a few of my wonderful dancing friends performed a dance for the Women Of Worship luncheon in Greenville, Tx. In order to explain how this all came about, I have to give you a little history on my dance background.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetI took dance, including tap, ballet, and jazz, from the time I was 2 years old until I graduated high school.  During high school I became a little burnt out on dance, but during college I  found myself choreographing dances during my study breaks to songs that meant something to me. Dance became an outlet or therapy for me during that time. When I came back from college, I was asked to choreograph some dances to be performed at my local church for various events, including our annual women’s conference. I began recruiting girls aged junior high to high school to dance with me. Their dance experience ranged from none to intermediate, but that didn’t bother me. I loved teaching and seeing the girls grow not only as dancers, but as young women. The amazing thing to me was always how much these girls grew in confidence, in self-worth, and even spiritually as they expressed their worship creatively through dance. They would come in unsure of themselves, a little clumsy, and afraid to be expressive. However, by performance night, they were confident, graceful, and their dancing became worship from their hearts. It transformed the girls’ mind, body and spirit, and it offered an opportunity to glorify God and minister to the hearts of the audience.

After getting married, I didn’t think I’d have the opportunity to dance much anymore. However, my mom came into contact with a group of ladies from Greenville, Tx who had a dream of putting together a women’s conference. They asked us to dance at their first luncheon and after getting a few members of the old team together, and about 1 month of practices, we put together a contemporary lyrical dance to “I Can Feel You” by Bethel Church.

The team consists of Ally Woods (top left), Angela Starnes (middle), Charis Gilbert (Right), and myself (bottom left).  I would like to thank these girls for their hard work and dedication that made this dance happen! We couldn’t have done it without you! Love you girls!

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

And now, Inspire Dance  presents, “I Can Feel You.”

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/89212406″>I Can Feel You Dance – Women of Worship Conference</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/inspiredance”>Inspire Dance</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

One thought on ““I Can Feel You” Dance

Leave a Reply

