Healthy Spaghetti Medley

IMG_3863

So we all know I have become quite the foodie. I love to taste, create, and experience food. When you hear this, you probably automatically think- how is it that you don’t weigh a million pounds. Let me tell you… It’s because I love to create healthy foods! Foods to fuel my body and get me through the day. I just feel SO much better when I eat clean, whole foods. Now, obviously I do have a sweet tooth and I do love to bake (see most of my previous posts lol), but when I’m not making sinful treats… I’m working out and eating healthy. Coming soon, I will tell you all about my latest fitness/ health adventure: The 21 Day Fix.

But for today I bring you my latest creation, a healthier twist on an old classic. Healthified Spaghetti! In this recipe we will use lean ground turkey meat instead of beef, and spaghetti squash instead of pasta. Add some veggies, and you have a satisfying comfort food- guilt free! I have to give credit to my new fitness friend Anna for the inspiration on this one. Check out her recipe here. 

Healthy Spaghetti Medley

IMG_3865

Ingredients:
  • Spaghetti Squash
  • Marinara Sauce (try to pick one with less than 5 ingredients & less than 5 sugars)
  • Fresh Garlic
  • Onion
  • Mini bell peppers in assorted colors
  • spinach
  • Lean ground turkey
  • Seasoning of choice (I used italian seasoning, garlic, and onion powder)
  • Pam or oil spray
Directions:

Cook Spaghetti squash. The easiest way is to poke holes throughout (like a potato) with a knife, then place in microwave for 2-3 mins per pound. Rotate squash halfway through cooking. Let stand to cool. Next cut the squash in half lengthwise (it should cut easily, if not, cook a few more minutes). Discard the seeds. Take a fork and scrape the insides. Noodle shaped strings should come out.

Spray large skillet with Pam Olive Oil and add 1/8 cup water. Add as many chopped onions, garlic, and bell peppers as you would like. Sauté, making sure to continually stir to prevent burning, until onions begin to turn opaque. Next add ground turkey (I used 1 lb). Use spatula to chop the meat into smaller pieces as it cooks. Add your preferred seasoning and continue to cook until meat is cooked through. Last, add spinach (however much you want), and cook until it begins to wilt.  At this point (or before) you can add your marinara sauce. However, I prefer to measure exactly how much sauce I use, so I heat it separately.

IMG_3850

Now just top your spaghetti squash with the meat and veggie mixture. Healthy Dinner!

 

 

Leave a Reply

