21 Day Fix Review

“Simple Fitness, Simple Eating, Fast Results.”

IMG_4270

IMG_4273

The Results are In!

My goal for the 21 Day Fix was to tone up. I didn’t really have a ton of weight to lose, but I was in definite need of tone. I ended up losing 2 pounds and 4.5 inches all over in 3 weeks- without starving and without spending an hour or more working out every day! I feel so much stronger and tighter than when I began. My clothes fit better and I feel more confident!

How I got started:

Autumn Calabrese is the celebrity trainer and brains behind the 21 Day Fix fitness and nutrition program. The program came out in February and I immediately began seeing people on my instagram feed trying it out. Their before and after pictures were amazing. I thought how in the world can you see THOSE kind of results in only 21 days! I mean we are talking people who clearly started without abs, and by the end… there they were! Then there were people who wanted to lose a considerable amount of weight… these people were losing 10-15 pounds in 21 days! My first thought was- this must be a super strict diet- and the workouts must be way too hard! But now… I was curious. I looked it up and everything seemed simple enough. THEN, a friend of mine decided to take the plunge and buy it. She wanted to do it together… so I jumped on the bandwagon. I joined a small group of ladies, as a part of an accountability group, and we did The Fix together! It was so awesome being a part of a group where no one judged each other. It was such a positive and nurturing atmosphere. I knew I was never alone, and they were there to support and encourage me the whole time!

What is the 21 Day Fix:

 

The 21 Day Fix is nutrition and fitness program produced by Beach Body (The company who produces T25, Insanity, P90X, and TurboFire) designed to take guesswork out. There is no need to count calories, carbs, or macros. You will get color-coded tupperware containers. Each color corresponds with a food group- carbs, vegetables, fruit, protein, fats, and oils. Depending on your calorie needs (you will calculate that in the beginning), you are allotted  a certain number of each color container per day. Then thats it… put as much food in those categories in your containers as will fit. You will automatically be in your calorie range. You will automatically be getting the right portion sizes and macros. I am a calorie counting addict… so of course I had to test the system. I use myfitness pal, and it worked every time. I was within my calorie needs, and my macros ( percent of carbs, protein, and fat you eat in a day) were perfect every time- which is something I have always struggled with. The workouts are only 30 minutes a day and include cardio, toning, pilates, and yoga.

Inside The 21 Day fix:

IMG_3773

Ok, i know you want to know the nitty gritty. How was it!?

Nutrition: The first few days were slightly overwhelming, only because you have to get used to the system and learn how it works for your life.  After the first 2 days though it was easy breezy!!  I never felt really hungry. You can taylor it how you want as long as you eat all the food in your containers, but I ate 5 small meals a day and stayed satisfied! I actually had more energy than usual and felt balanced in my eating. There aren’t really any “off limit” foods. You just have to do some substitutions for “treats.” However, you should be eating “clean, whole foods” most of the time. Here are some of my yummy meals:

IMG_4053 IMG_4067 IMG_3952 IMG_4014 IMG_3863 IMG_3833

Eating out:

IMG_4160 IMG_4029

Shakeology: I also got Shakeology as a part of my pack. You can use Shakeology for one of your meals each day, which I highly recommend. It quickly became my favorite meal every day! Shakeology is a super-food packed protein shake. It includes vitamins and minerals, probiotics, and digestive enzymes just to name a few.  I have tried lots of protein shakes, but this is the BEST tasting shake I’ve ever had. In fact, some of the recipes I made tasted like a milkshake! Shakeology claims to curb cravings and help with weight loss. I was a skeptic at first, but I’m a believer now. My cravings are WAY down after drinking it every day. I even went with my husband to the grand opening of a cookie bakery, and I was barely tempted… now THAT is crazy! I also felt like it gave me more energy- which I can always use! Here is one of the shakes I made:

IMG_4049

Workouts: The workouts are only 30 minutes, but they go by fast and get the job done! They are mostly “bootcamp” style, but there is also a pilates, and yoga routine. You will need 2 sets of weights. A heavier set and a lighter set. I used 8’s and 10’s, but you may want to go lower or higher depending on your strength level. The workouts are good for any fitness level from beginners to advanced. I’m not gonna lie…. the workouts are tough, but in a good way! I could tell from week to week how much stronger I was getting in such a short amount of time! Don’t worry though, there are modifications if you aren’t ready to do the full moves. Anyone can complete these workouts because you can modify based on your level of fitness!

This program was very refreshing to me. I hate feeling like I have to work out an hour a day to see results. This program proved to me that I can see significant changes with only 30 minutes a day! I also loved the nutrition program and plan to continue using it. For TIU girls, you can totally use the TIU nutrition program with the 21 day fix. It is kind of the missing link- helping you with portions and macros! And yes you can still have protein pancakes!

I love this program and highly recommend it!

IMG_0368

One thought on “21 Day Fix Review

  1. Pingback: 21 Day Fix Extreme Review | Sharayah Aubrey

Leave a Reply

